Chevrolet Lumina SSV Ute

Early last year I tested the Chevrolet Lumina SS Ute Automatic and I loved it. A year later I had the opportunity to drive the updated SSV Ute in manual guise. I did not expect much of a difference, but I was very wrong. It still has the same 6L V8 engine with 270 kW and 530 Nm of torque, but the manual does not switch off one bank of cylinders at lower engine speeds, as did the auto.

This means that all of the torque is at the ready when you drop the clutch. There is a much bigger sense of excitement in the manual and I had to concentrate when I pulled away with force, especially since it was raining the whole week. I dared not switch off the traction control, as the tail came out every time I stomped on the throttle exiting a corner.

Rear wheel drive and mountains of torque make it fun to play with, but is it drivable? Thanks to a near 50/50 front to rear weight distribution and very direct steering you never ever feel like it is driving you. I always felt completely in control, even in the wet, and the ABS brakes with electronic brake-force distribution offer great feel and stopping power.

The only criticism here would be that you would have thought the dual exhaust system would reward you with the sweet sounds of that massive V8, but the interior is so well dampened that you can only hear the radio or talk on the integrated Bluetooth hands-free kit. Adding to this quite interior is the tall sixth gear. At 3,000 r/min you are doing close to 200 km/h. Due to the addictive feeling when pulling away , the on-board computer mostly read 14 l/100km. I did however manage 10.5 l/100 km, over 40 km doing 120 km/h on one occasion.

The interior has been updated. Gone are the geeky oil pressure gauge and engine coolant temperature (which I rather liked). You now have a touch screen radio above the upmarket dual zone climate control knobs.

The steering wheel still houses the audio, phone and cruise control buttons and the instrumentation is reserved with old school dials for temperature and fuel, but it says SS below the rev counter and V8 below the speedo. Oh yeah, and it has racing style pedals too. At R432 500 it may be a lot of money, but Torque-for-Rand this is a bargain!

For more info visit: GMSA

Chevrolet Lumina SSV Ute
Capacity (cc) 5 967
Power (kW) 270
Torque (Nm) 530
Fuel consumption (claimed) 14.5 l/100km (actual)
Gearbox 6 speed manual
Service plan (years / km) 3 / 60 000
Price R 432 500

One comment

  1. Thibedi

    If I could Own this Monster Speedmaster I would be living my dreams wide awake.

Leave a comment